Tags

, , , , , , ,

for the duration of the blackout
I watched Solaris

wondering how
I might be duplicated, might be
duplicate already

every moment a
fresh copy assuming I am
the same consciousness

but if I were sentient ocean
it is you I would clone, creating you
if not as you were, simply as
I remember you

watching you stare across my alien seascape
feeling, for all your new life, vital energy
a hole at the heart of your being
that nothing can assuage

suddenly, the light returns
Chris and Rhea are in their old apartment
in an alternate universe where
she
does not die

alternate universe where questions of
life and death, truth and meaning
are absolutely irrelevant, now
that all they are
is Solaris

my thoughts of you stirring
old longings
memory of
failure
pain
of loss

perhaps there is such a Solaris out there
it
will call me
find me

a light
will switch on